The Sabbath Rest

Today is Thursday, which means it is Friday for me.  What that means is that I take Fridays off, so today is the end of my work week.  There will be no new post on Friday.  I am a firm believer in taking a sabbath.  As a minister, Sunday is my most important work day, so I have selected Friday as my sabbath. 

I have not always taken a day off.  When I was a teenager I worked in the store that my parents owned.  I was in school or working probably every day for a long time.  I remember asking about the sabbath and I was told that if one did something different from what one normally did, that was a sufficient break.  

When I got married, my new bride was shocked that I was going to do some work around the house on a Sunday.  It was not that she was shocked that I was going to do some work; she had been brought up that you did not cut the grass or do other yard work, or housework, on Sundays, that it was a day for worship, rest and recreation.  At the time, I was a student in college and the thought of taking an entire day off seemed like an impossible dream.  I thought that I would never get everything done that needed to be done.  However, being a newlywed, I quickly agreed to give it a try, never thinking that it would work. 

It did. 

Over twenty years later, I am a firm believer in taking a Sabbath.

I work six days a week and the seventh day I rest.  Does that sound familiar?  Like maybe you’ve heard it somewhere?  It is one of the ten commandments, in case you have forgotten.  “Remember the Sabbath day, to keep it holy.” (Exodus 20:8 )

You might say that we are not under the law.  I would remind you that Jesus said “Man was not made for the Sabbath, but the Sabbath was made for man.” (Mark 2:27) We need the day of rest for our own well being.  From the very beginning, when God created the heavens and the earth and rested on the seventh day, it was not because He was tired and needed a break, it was to set the example for us to follow.  It is good for us. 

I will write again on Saturday, which is my Monday..sort of.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

9 Responses to “The Sabbath Rest”

  1. me Says:

    Sabbath rest – it is a good thing

  2. Cherie Bell Says:

    Yep…your point is well taken that it’s one of the 10 Commandments…right up there w/lying and murder and adultery. We think it’s a big deal when we ignore those…but I don’t know too many Christians with cell phones who actually practice it on a regular basis.

    I know it’s the right thing…and I’m pretty sure (I am strictly speculating here) that it makes a spiritual and psychological impact we can’t comprehend fully until be begin – no…I think…actually FOLLOW THROUGH ON 🙂 – the discipline.

    Liike tithing, maybe.

    As a culture, we we have edited it out.

    Not good.

  3. cgirod Says:

    Thank you both for sharing. Practicing a sabbath rest takes some planning and a lot of discipline but it is very beneficial to one’s overall sense of well being.

  4. LisaB Says:

    The rest is important. I suspect a lot of times it isn’t followed because it’s been turned into something we, in this society, tend to construe as a luxury we can’t afford to indulge in.

    I’m sure planning is key, although, I have to admit. Every time somebody mentions something about planning two things come to mind:

    1. “If you ever want to hear God laugh, tell Him your plans!”

    and

    2. “The best laid plans of mice and men…”

    [Sorry, I can’t remember off the top of my head whom I should be crediting for those quotes. I knew at one point in time, but my brain’s drawing a blank right now. The “mice” one seems to especially be on the tip of my tongue…Maybe that’s part of the problem…memory (REMEMBER the sabbath…)]

  5. cgirod Says:

    The quotes that you mention bring another well known quote to my mind.

    “Those who fail to plan should plan to fail”

    I have no idea where I first heard it, but I do believe in planning ahead. At the same time it is important to try to remain flexible, to adopt the plan as the situation evolves. I am not always so good at that. I am trying to improve my flexibility.

  6. Cherie Bell Says:

    They have exercises for that…

  7. cgirod Says:

    sigh…..

  8. hystar Says:

    I should do a word study in the Sabbath some day. I just started a new site that I am posting some of my Bible studies to. I would appreciate any comments you may have.

  9. cgirod Says:

    hystar,
    Word studies are an excellent Bible study tactic.

Leave a Reply

